Corporate Affairs Commission –Everything You Need To Know About Cac (//www.cac.gov.ng)

0
how to register with CAC

Corporate Affairs Commission –Everything You Need To Know About Cac

The Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) is regarded as Nigeria’s incumbent corporate registry set up vis-à-vis the Companies and Allied Matters Act (CAMA). Promulgated in 1990, CAMA was enacted as a basis for overseeing company establishment and management in Nigeria. Prior to the establishment of the Corporate Affairs Commission, Company Registry –which regulated the administration of the defunct Companies Act of 1968 –was the body initially performing the corporate regulatory functions of present-day CAC. Company Registry, which was a department in the Federal Ministry of Commerce and Tourism, failed to discharge its duties effectively. Therefore, it is notable that the establishment of CAC as an independent body was borne out of the need for an effective alternative to the previously existing Company Registry. Under the leadership of its Registrar-General, CAC discharges its roles through authorized members of relevant associations including:
  • The Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators of Nigeria (ICSAN)
  • The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN)
  • The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA)
  • The Association of National Accountants of Nigeria (ANA)

List of All CAC Offices in Nigeria

Corporate Headquarters

Plot 420, Tigris Crescent, Off Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama Abuja. email: cservice@cac.gov.ng
READ ALSO  How to Register Football Academy in Nigeria - Know the Requirement (What, How and Why)?

Lagos (ALAUSA)

PLOT 7, OTUNBA JOBI FELE WAY, BEHIND MKO GARDENS, ALAUSA, IKEJA, Lagos State Nigeria email: oregun@cac.gov.ng

Kano

52, Unity Road, off Ibrahim Taiwo Road, Kano Kano State Nigeria email: kano@cac.gov.ng

Portharcourt

Plot 332, Danjuma Drive, Trans Amadi Industrial Layout, Portharcourt Rivers State Nigeria email: portharcourt@cac.gov.ng

Lagos (ISLAND)

NO 18/20, CATHOLIC MISSION STREET, LAGOS ISLAND, LAGOS email: yaba@cac.gov.ng

Enugu

Plot 31B, Okpara Avenue Enugu Enugu State Nigeria email: enugu@cac.gov.ng

Benin

NO 44, GODWIN ABBE WAY, OFF SAPELE ROAD, G.R.A., BENIN-CITY, Edo State Nigeria email: edo@cac.gov.ng

Owerri

BESIDE CITY GLOBAL HOTEL, BY UMUGUMA JUNCTION, PORTHARCOURT ROAD, Owerri Imo State Nigeria email: owerri@cac.gov.ng

Kaduna

No. 1 Yakubu Avenue, Behind Lugard Hall Kaduna Kaduna Sate Nigeria email: kaduna@cac.gov.ng

Jos

YINGI, RAYFIELD ROAD, AFTER MTN OFFICE BEFORE GOLD N BASE JUNCTION, BESIDE AIRFORCE BASE, JOS, PLATEAU STATE jos@cac.gov.ng

Ibadan

Premium House, 1st Floor, Jericho, opposite Evans publishing company, Eleyele, Ibadan Oyo State Nigeria email: ibadan@cac.gov.ng

Akure

151, OYEMEKUN ROAD, AKURE, ONDO STATE email: akure@cac.gov.ng

Ilorin

10, Adama Bola Sa’adu House 10, Ahmadu Bello way, G.R.A, Ilorin Kwara State Nigeria email: ilorin@cac.gov.ng

Abeokuta

56/63,First Avenue, Beside O.K centre, Ibara Housing Estate, ABEOKUTA, OGUN STATE abeokuta@cac.gov.ng

Uyo

NO. 4, UBI INYANG STRET, UYO, KWA IBOM STATE uyo@cac.gov.ng

Calabar

38 MCC ROAD, CALABAR, CROSS RIVER STATE calabar@cac.gov.ng

Makurdi

PLOT BNA 5366, ABU KING SHULUWA ROAD, OFF OTUKPO ROAD, MAKURDI, BENUE STATE. makurdi@cac.gov.ng

Sokoto

NO 3, SULTAN ABUBAKAR ROAD, SOKOTO, SOKOTO STATE. sokoto@cac.gov.ng

Minna

3, INTERCITY BANK BUILDING, 3RD FLOOR, (FORMER BOSSO ROAD), MINNA, NIGER STATE minna@cac.gov.ng

Gombe

OPPOSITE GOMBE LOW-COST HOUSING ESTATE, GOMBE, GOMBE STATE gombe@cac.gov.ng

DUTSE

NO 11, ASMA’U HOUSE, KIYAWA ROAD (SAME BUILDING WITH AFRI BANK), DUTSE, JIGAWA OFFICE dutse@cac.gov.ng

Bauchi

11A, MOHAMMED BELLO KIRFI ROAD,OPPOSITE STATE LIBRARY, BAUCHI, BAUCHI STATE bauchi@cac.gov.ng
READ ALSO  Become A Successful Event Planner In Nigeria By Following These Steps

Katsina

NO. 5, BLOCK G, COMMERCIAL LAYOUT, GIDAN DAWA, ALONG IBB WAY, KLP 137, KANO ROAD, KATSINA, KATSINA STATE katsina@cac.gov.ng

BIRNIN KEBBI

NO. 14, SULTAN ABUBAKAR ROAD, ALONG GOVERNMENT HOUSE, BIRNIN-KEBBI, KEBBI STATE kebbi@cac.gov.ng

Awka

PLOT 26, OKEY ANUEIAGU AVENUE (NEAR COSMILA HOTEL) OKPUNO, AWKA, ANAMBRA STATE. awka@cac.gov.ng

LOKOJA

NO 1, EQUITY PLAZA, SURULERE STREET, PHASE 1, LOKOGOMA, LOKOJA, KOGI STATE lokoja@cac.gov.ng

GUSAU

2A, SANI ABATCHA WAY, BESIDE GTB, GUSAU, ZAMFARA STATE. gusau@cac.gov.ng

Yola

NO 2, HOSPITAL ROAD, OPPOSITE GALBOSE HOSPITAL, JIMETA, YOLA, ADAMAWA STATE yola@cac.gov.ng

Maiduguri

ADJACENT STARCOMMS OFFICE, DEMBOA ROAD, OLD G.R.A., MAIDUGURI, BORNO STATE maiduguri@cac.gov.ng

Asaba

PLOT 74, BLOCK 11, ASABA HOUSING ESTATE, CORE AREA LAYOUT, DBS ROAD, ASABA, DELTA STATE asaba@cac.gov.ng

Umuahia

PLOT 111B, ELEGHEIM LAYOUT, ALONG BCA ROAD, UMUAHIA, ABIA STATE umuahia@cac.gov.ng

Lafia

19, SABON FEGI, OPPOSITE MODERN MARKET ROAD, LAFIA, NASARAWA STATE. lafia@cac.gov.ng

Osogbo

KILOMETRE 4, GBONGAN ROAD, NEAR FRSC, BESIDE ADE BARE SPECIALIST HOSPITAL, OGO OLUWA, OSOGBO, OSUN STATE osogbo@cac.gov.ng

Jalingo

153, OPPOSITE MURI HOTEL, HAMMA RUWA WAY, JALINGO, TARABA STATE jalingo@cac.gov.n

Yenagoa

NO 444, CHIEF MELFORD OKILO EXPRESS WAY, YENEZUE-GENE, YENAGOA, BAYELSA STATE. yenagoa@cac.gov.ng

Abakaliki

NO 13, SAM EGWU WAY, ABAKALIKI, EBONYI STATE abakaliki@cac.gov.ng

Ado-Ekiti

PLOT 4, COMMERCIAL BLOCK ‘C’ EXTENSION TO GRA ALONG NEW IYIN ROAD ( BANK/SECRETARIAT ROAD), ADO-EKITI, EKITI STATE. ekiti@cac.gov.ng

FCT (ABUJA)

PLOT 565, NDOLA SQUARE, OFF MICHAEL OKPARA STREET, ZONE 5, WUSE, ABUJA abuja@cac.gov.ng

Functions Performed by the Corporate Affairs Commission

As per the provision of Section 7 of the Companies and Allied Matters Act (CAMA), the Corporate Affairs Commission is vested with the power to carry out the following functions:
  1. Establishment and maintenance of company office and registry in every of Nigeria’s 36 states wherein such office and registry are well equipped to perform the Commission’s duties, as provided under the Act or any relevant law
  2. Administration of the Act (CAMA) and the supervision/regulation of company establishment, incorporation, management and winding up
  3. Registration of Business Names and Incorporated Trustees
  4. The undertaking of activities considered relevant for the full implementation of CAMA’s provisions
  5. Providing a broad array of additional services
  6. The organization and conduct of inquiries into any company actions/relationships provided that such inquiries are in tandem with both public and shareholders’ interests
  7. Overseeing the initial stage of the accreditation process for authorized professionals and users of the Companies Registry. These professional users are precisely regarded as Chartered Secretaries, Lawyers and Chartered Accountants
  8. Provision of responses to grievances or questions relating to the services offered by the Commission
  9. Sale of the Commission’s statutory publications and forms
  10. Performing an oversight function over companies’ compliance with the provisions of CAMA
READ ALSO  List of All CAC Offices in Nigeria
 

Types of Companies Registered by CAC

In tandem with the regulatory authority of CAC, only four types of companies can be established for the conduct of business in Nigeria. Therefore, CAC specializes in the registration of the following company types:
  1. Public Limited Company (PLC)
  2. Private Limited Company (LTD)
  3. Unlimited Companies
  4. Companies Limited by Guaranty

Conclusion

CAC sets a benchmark of 50 individuals as the maximum number of members for private limited companies whereas there is no limit to the number of individuals who can make up a public company. Also, for every of the four aforementioned company types, CAC stipulates the minimum membership of two individuals.

* TEXT ADS**
◊Cure and Knock Staphylococcus & Other Infectious Diseases out from your Body within 3 weeks --CLICK HERE

◊Order Our Ultimate Virtual Soccer Hacks and Secretes to Win 100k Daily --CLICK HERE

◊Register Your Business Name With CAC and Get it in less than 2 weeks--CLICK HERE

◊Join our Community and interact with fellow members>> Click here to join

◊JOIN US @TELEGRAM TO RECEIVE UPDATE CLICK HERE


◊Grab Ultimate List of Over 100+ Companies That Pays You Up To $2500 To Blog and Post Online ( #3000 Only))- CLICK HERE

◊Get All Recruitment Jobs Past Questions and Answers--CLICK HERE
____________________________________________________________________

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here